What if You are Assaulted at Work?

There are times being a service provider to individuals with developmental disabilities, their family, and staff has its disadvantages. One of these times is when an assault occurs. A staff member may be assaulted while in one of our centers, while in a family home, or in the community. If you are the victim of an assault at work or on a work-related activity, the following procedures are recommended.
1. Contact the proper CCBDD authorities.
2. Contact ACCESS President, Gloria Stansberry.
3. File all appropriate police reports. Press Charges against the assaulting individual.
4. Go to a doctor. Get a doctor’s statement if there is even a remote possibility of personal injury.
5. Take pictures, if relevant, and possible, of injuries or property damage.
6. Review Article 36, Assault Leave, of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA):
• follow the timelines for reporting to your supervisor and obtaining medical treatment;
• you may qualify for up to five days of paid assault leave;
• complete and submit the ACCESS-CCBDD Leave Form (Appendix D of the CBA) and the required physician’s statement; and
• complete and submit the Work-Related Injuries (Assault) Form (Appendix G of the CBA).
7. Avoid talking to anyone representing the assaulting individual without prior counsel.
8. Inquire from the HR Department which papers and forms are necessary for possible Workers Compensation Claim.
9. Write down as soon as possible after the assault incident all particulars of the situation, including names, witnesses, date, time(s), location, and general conditions.
10. Contact an attorney to consider a civil claim. Any person who has been willfully and maliciously assaulted by a minor may recover up to $10,000 in compensatory damages from the parents having custody of an unmarried child under the age of 18.
11. Remember, OEA members are covered by the OEA/NEA Legal Services Program (LSP) if charges are filed against you.


We have a number of open positions and will need to fill upcoming openings in the spring. Currently we need members to fill the Grievance Chair position and the Legislative Chair position.
In May we’ll hold elections for President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary and three At-Large Reps. We will also have vacancies for the FCPE Chair, Constitution & Bylaws Chair, Labor- Management Committee members that will need to be filled.

Training is provided by ACCESS, NEOEA and OEA

Interested members are encouraged to contact Gloria Stansberry at 216-635-3502 or via email at stansberry.gloria@gmail.com

2013-2014 Schedule: Monthly ACCESS Meetings & Bi-Annual Off-Site ACCESS Meetings

The 2013-2014 Monthly ACCESS Meetings will be held the third Wednesday of the month at the William Pat Day Services Center, in Conference Room A, from 4:15 to 6:15 pm. Please note the dates below. Monthly ACCESS Meetings are always open to all members.

  • September 18, 2013                         February 19, 2014    
  • October 9, 2013*                              March 19, 2014
  • November 20, 2013                         April 16, 2014
  • December 18, 2013                          May 21, 2014*
  • January 15, 2014                              June 18, 2013

Two of the monthly meetings are held off-site per year, one in May and one in October.  The meeting will be held at the Edgewater Yacht Club on October 9th at 4:15pm. The October meeting will be the second Wednesday of October instead of the usual third Wednesday.

Vacancy: ACCESS Grievance Chair

Have you ever wondered what to do if your supervisor denied your request for Professional Leave? Or, if rules in your department seem to be different than the rules everyone else has to follow? Have you ever looked up information in your contract to learn more about your benefits? Have you ever questioned whether management can require you to work late nights or weekends? If you answered “Yes!” to any of these questions, you might be the right member to be our new Grievance Chair. Contact Gloria Stansberry if you have questions or might be interested. Training is available through both NEOEA and OEA and ACCESS leadership will be there to help you learn the ropes of processing grievances. Most grievances are resolved through maintaining open lines of communication between the Association and management. When issues cannot be resolved, additional help is provided by OEA.
ACCESS needs a new Grievance Chair. After years of serving as the ACCESS Grievance Chair, Marian Graham has decided it’s time to step down. Thank you, Marian, for your years of service.

Who Knows Where You Are? And, Where is CCBDD Property?

Many ACCESS members have flexible schedules and work at multiple work sites and locations in the community. Sometimes we’re on the clock and off the clock multiple times per day. However we have to work our schedules, we’re responsible for keeping our timesheets up-to-date.
These days, GPS features are available on many devices. GPS devices installed in CCBDD vehicles and GPS-enabled mobile devices issued to staff members enable the CCBDD to track the location of the device. This may be a good thing should a CCBDD vehicle, iPad, smart phone, or cell phone be stolen or lost because it could aid in the recovery of the property. Staff members should be aware that, being CCBDD property, the equipment (and possibly, you) could also be tracked at any time.